National Chess Federation of the Philippines

"Make the Right Move, Play Chess"



Related Stories:

6th Edition revised

8th Edition.pdf

PR7 - Last round

7th Edition.pdf

6th Edition.pdf

5th Edition.pdf

4th Edition.pdf

PR6 - round 10

PR5 - round 8

PR4 - round 4 and 5

PR3 - round 2 and 3

2nd Edition.pdf

PR2 - round 1

1st Edition.pdf

PR1 - 3rd ASEAN JAPFA Chess Championships




December 27, 2015


PR1 - 3rd ASEAN JAPFA Chess Championships


Dec 22 -30, 2015 held in GM Utut Adianto Chess School Jakarta, Indonesia



Greetings from Jakarta, Indonesia

The team Philippines will be participating in the 3rd ASEAN JAPFA Chess Championships from Dec 22 -30, 2015 to be held in GM Utut Adianto Chess School Jakarta, Indonesia. The participation of the country is made possible through the efforts and under the strong and kind leadership of NCFP Chairman / President Prospero A. Pichay Jr. As well as the energetic and vigorous support of Cong. Neri Javier Colmenares NCFP Vice President for Visayas and Chairman Committee for Grassdevelopment and promotions. More so, the unwavering assistance of Philippine Sports Commission Chairman Ricardo Garcia.

The Winners of the tournament both men and women will get GM and WGM respectively.
The Players from the Philippines are bannered by experienced, young and promising talented players:
For men:
GM Darwin Laylo second seed in this tournament, a vice Champion in 2015 Guam Open Chess Championship and also a Filipino top performer by placing 4th place in one of strongest tournament hosted and organized by the Country in the recently concluded 2015 PSC/ Puregold Chess Challenge in Subic

IM Paulo Bersamina with one GM norm, A freshman student of National University, Champion 2014 ASEAN + Age group under 20 years old boys in Macau, 3rd Place 2014 Battle of the grandmasters National Chess Championships, And Member of Philippine Men's Olympic Chess team in 2014 Norway Chess Olympiad

IM Jan Emmanuel Garcia, A graduating Management information systems student of Ateneo de Manila University, Champion 2011 Asian Youth Chess Championships Under 16 years old boys in Subic, Champion 2013 Asian Youth chess championships under 18 years old in Iran

For women :
WIM Janelle Mae Frayna with two WGM norm( she needs one more WGM norm to become full fledged Woman Grandmaster). A 4th year Psychology student and cum Claude contender of Far Eastern University Manila,
Currently, Philippines number one, 2015 National Junior Champion, season 77th UAAP Most Valuable player and member of Philippine Women's Chess Olympic team for two consecutive time (2012 Turkey and 2014 Norway)

WIM Bernadette Galas with one WGM norm, a 3rd year Sports Management student of De la Salle University Manila , Board 3 Gold Medallist in 77th UAAP Season and Champion of the 2015 ASEAN + Age Group Chess Championships (under 20 year old Girls) in Singapore

WFM Shanai Mae Mendoza with two WIM( She needs one more WIM norm to become Full fledged Woman International Master), Sophomore student of Far Eastern University Manila, Champion 2015 World Schools under 17 years old girls in Thailand, Champion 2015 Asian Schools under 17 years Old Girls in Singapore and Champion in the 2015 Philippine International Chess Championships Challenger section in Subic , the only female chess player who accomplished such feat in Philippine History.

The opening ceremony of the event is today at 3pm and pairings for round 1

WFM Azman Hisham Nur Najiha ( Malaysia) Vs. WCM Azman Hisham Nur Nabila ( Malaysia)
WFM Karenza Dita ( Indonesia) Vs. WIM Hoang Thi Nhu Y ( Vietnam)
WFM Mendoza Shanai Mae ( Philippines) Vs. WFM Citra Dewi Ardhiani Anastasia( Indonesia)
WIM Sihite Chelsie Monica Ignesia( Indonesia) Vs. WIM Galas Bernadette ( Philippines)
WFM Nur Abidah Shanti ( Indonesia) Vs. WIM Fryana Janelle Mae( Philippines)
WGM Nguyen Thi Mai Hung( Vietnam) Vs. Fitriyani Amanda Suci ( Indonesia)

IM Wynn Zaw Thun ( Myanmar) Vs. GM Dao Thien Hai( Vietnam)
GM Megaranto Susanto( Indonesia) Vs. IM Sean Winshand Cuhendi(Indonesia)
FM Yeoh Li Tian ( Malaysia) Vs. FM Nguyen Anh Khoi( Vietnam)
IM Garcia Jan Emmanuel ( Philippines) Vs. IM Nguyen Van Huy ( Vietnam)
GM Laylo Darwin ( Philippines) Vs. IM Bersamina Paulo ( Philippines)
Yoseph Theolifus Taher ( Indonesia) Vs. IM Ali Muhammad Lutfi( Indonesia)

For more information and updates you can go to the official website of 3rd ASEAN JAPFA chess championships.