National Chess Federation of the Philippines

"Make the Right Move, Play Chess"



Blitz Results:

Blitz Team Event

Individual Ranking


Related News:

Final - rnd 7 - Rapid

Final - rnd 7 - Blitz


Rules and Prizes




December 8, 2015




December 5-6, 2015 @ 3/F Food Court, Alphaland Southgate Mall, Magallanes, Makati City


Sherwin Tiu defeated Michael Punzalan in the last round to bag the top individual award of the National Chess Championships Rapid event held Sunday at the 3rd floor Food Court of the Alphaland Southgate Mall along EDSA Magallanes, Makati City.  

Tiu also carried his team, Crowns Asia Chem. A, to the championship of the team event of the tournament. His teammates also won their respective assignments to assure their team of the title: National Master Noel de la Cruz prevailed over Rowell Roque of Novelty Chess Club while Jaime Criste upset National Master Ernesto Absin of AFPI II. The fourth member of the team is Sharlyne Anne Abuan. Crowns Asia bagged the champion trophy, medals for the team members and the top prize of P20,000 while Tiu received the individual champion trophy and P5,000 top individual prize.

Lennon Hart Salgados upset International Master Barlo Nadera to take the individual  Runner-up trophy and P3,000 second prize purse while Punzalan settled for third with P2,000 prize and a trophy.

In the team event, MJ Yabut D Destroyer led  by Salgados took up runner-up honors when teammates Jerry Areque, Andy Banag and Rommel Lucion also won their respective games.

Areque beat Joeven Polsotin of United Taguig Chess Club, Banag defeated Ricardo Batcho (Orbe Chess Team) and Lucion upset Louie Salvador of Marie Bernarde College. They received the second place trophy, medals and P12,000 cash prize.  

Third place is FEU Diliman composed of Woman International Master Janelle Mae Frayna, Darry Bernardo, Jeth Romy Morado and Tyrone Jacutina Jr. They received the third place trophy, medals and P10,000 cash prize. They also bagged the top school category prize of P3,000 and medals.

The United Taguig Chess Club placed fourth and received medals and P5,000 cash prize.

Members are National Master Hamed Nouri, Joeven Polsotin, Allan Tutica and Jim Simon.

Fifth place is the Crowns Asia Chem. B composed of FIDE Master Mari Joseph Turqueza, Jan Nigel Galan, Ronald Hermida and Alexis Charlotte Suede. They received medals and P4,000.

Sixth place is FEU Juniors led by International Master Barlo Nadera. Other members are John Marvin Miciano, Rey Jay Pascual and Andrea Blanca De Vera. They received medals and P3,000 cash prize. Prizes were awarded by Officers of AFPI led by its Chairman Lt. Gen. Arturo Tabaquero (Ret.) and NCFP Executive Director Grandmaster Jayson O. Gonzales.   

The event is being organized by the Artillery Foundation of the Philippines, Inc. (AFPI) and the National Chess Federation of the Philippines (NCFP), It is being supported by the Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) in cooperation with the Philippine Olympic Committee (POC).