National Chess Federation of the Philippines

"Make the Right Move, Play Chess"




Open & Challenger



Final Round (10th rnd)

Round 8 PICC

Round 5 PICC

Round 4 PICC

Round 2 PICC 2015

Press Release Nov. 8, 2015



November 8, 2015




Subic Bay Peninsular Hotel, Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Olongapo City


The Philippine International Chess Championships reels off tomorrow, November 9, 2015 at the Subic Bay Peninsular Hotel, Burgos corner Canal Road, Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Olongapo City, Zambales.

Invited to grace the opening ceremony at 2:00 p.m. are Senator Aquilino “Koko” Pimentel III and officials of the National Chess Federation of the Philippines (NCFP) headed by its Chairman and President Prospero “Butch” Pichay, Jr., Secretary General Congressman Abraham “Bambol” Tolentino, Grassroots Development and Promotions Committee Chairman Congressman Neri Javier Colmenares, Treasurer Red Dumuk and Executive Director Grandmaster Jayson O. Gonzales. 

The tournament is the first of two tournaments being organized by the National Chess Federation of the Philippines (NCFP) and supported financially by the Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) headed by its Chairman, the Honorable Ricardo R. Garcia in cooperation with the Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) headed by its President, the Honorable Jose S. Cojuangco, Jr.

To see action in the event are Grandmasters from different countries abroad led by GM Abhijeet Gupta (2633) India, GM Alexander Zubov (2630) Ukraine, GM Pavel Smirnov (2617) Russia, GM Lu, Shanglei (2615) China, GM Anton Demchenko (2592) Russia, GM Vladimir Belous (2573) Russia, GM Michael Mozharov (2573) Russia, GM Boris Savchenko (2567) Russia, GM Anton Shomoev (2565) Russia, IM Lin Chen (2520) China, GM Vitaly Sivuk (2512) Ukraine,GM Nguyen, Duc Hoa (2500) Vietnam, GM Vr. Aravindh Chithambaram (2496) India, IM Sunilduth Lyna Narayanan (2481) India, GM Tigran Kotanjian (2479) Armenia, GM Deepan Chakkravarthy (2477) India, IM Sean Windshand Cuhindi (2450) Indonesia, IM Puranik, Abhimanyu (2442) India, FM Rohan, Ahuja (2411) India among others.

To challenge them are our participants of the recently concluded Battle of the Grandmasters led by champion GM Richard Bitoon (2417), top seed GM John Paul Gomez (2512), Asia’s first GM, Eugene Torre (2468), runner-up GM Joey Antonio (2478), GM Darwin Laylo (2471), IM Haridas Pascua (2462) and Woman IM Janelle Mae Frayna among others. Hostilities starts at 3 pm.