National Chess Federation of the Philippines

"Make the Right Move, Play Chess"




Open & Challenger


Download Games:





Ceremonial Moves

PR6 - round 10 Open

PR5 - round 8 Open

PR4 - round 6 Open

PR3 - round 5 Open

PR2 - round 3 Open

PR1 - round 1 Open



November 27, 2015




Subic Bay Peninsular Hotel, Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Olongapo City


Russian Grandmaster Boris Savchenko thrashed top seed GM Abhijeet Gupta of India in 53 moves of a Sicilian Najdorf in the 10th and final round to formally capture the title of the PSC/Puregold International Chess Challenge held at the Subic Bay Peninsular Hotel, Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Olongapo City, Zambales.                

Savchenko’s record is 9 wins and 1 draw in 10 rounds of play, two and a half points ahead of runner-up GM Lu Shanglei of China, whom he defeated in the 8th round, and third placer GM Vitaly Sivuk of Ukraine (winner of the first tournament] who draw his game with the highest placed Filipino player grandmaster Darwin Laylo who took fourth place after tie-break over GM Tigran Kotanjian (Armenia) fifth place and IM Lin Chen of China who settled for sixth place.     

Three players tied with 6 points and took the following places after tie-break: GM Anton Demchenko of Russia 7th Place, GM Pavel Smirnov (Russia) 8th Place and GM Nguyen Duc Hoa of Vietnam, 9th Place.

A large group of eleven players that included two Filipino players finished with 5.5 points and in the following order after tie-break: 10th FM Ajuha Rohan (India), 11th GM Abhijeet Gupta (India), 12th GM Chakkravarthy Deepan (India), 13th GM Mikhael Mozharov (Russia), 14th IM Jan Emmanuel Garcia (Phi), 15th IM Abhimanyu Puranik (India), 16th GM Alexander Zubov (Ukraine) 17th GM Anton Shomoev (Russia), 18th GM Vladimir Belous (Russia), 19th FM Liu Xiangyi (Singapore) and 20th GM Rogelio Antonio Jr. (Phi).

Only two players of the five pointers make it to the magic 22 that obtained prizes: GM Richard Bitoon (Phi) 21st and Local Master Jerad Docena, who obtained his final International Master title norm, 22nd place.

In the Challenger division, Franz Robert Grafil of DLSU drew with National Master Efren Bagamasbad in 31 moves of a Bogo-Indian to capture, via higher tie-break, the title of the Challenger section. Prince Mark Aquino of LPU defeated Sherwin Tiu in a QGD to tie Grafil but settled for second place after tie break. NM Bagasmasbad is third while Mohamad Sacar is fourth place after defeating Henry Lopez to tie Bagamasbad.  

The tournament is being organized by the National Chess Federation of the Philippines (NCFP) headed by its Chairman and President Prospero ‘Butch’ Pichay Jr., Secretary General Congressman Abraham ‘Bambol’ Tolentino and Grassroots Development Chairman Congressman Neri Javier Colmenares. It is being supported financially by the Philippine Sports Commission headed by its Chairman, Ricardo R. Garcia and in cooperation with the Philippine Olympic Committee headed by its President, Jose ‘Peping’ Cojuangco, Jr.                

Major Sponsors aside from the PSC and Puregold are: Asia United Bank (AUB), Burlington Performance Socks, MarcVentures Holdings, Inc. and MarcVentures Mining and Development Corporation.