National Chess Federation of the Philippines

"Make the Right Move, Play Chess"







May 17, 2017


2017 National Age Group Chess Championship (PR-2)


Top seed national pool member NM John Marvin Miciano of Davao City and Venice Vicente (No. 4 seed) of Tanza, Cavite ruled in contrasting fashions theU20 boys and girls divisions of the recent National Age Group Chess Championship, respectively, at Robinson’s Galleria in Cebu City.

Miciano, top board player of UAAP secondary chess champion Far Eastern University, edged teammate Jeth Romy Morado by .5 point while Vicente, a member of UAAP women chess champion FEU, nipped national pool member WFM Marie Antoinette San Diego through the direct encounter tiebreaker.

Sharing the limelight in the tourney co-presented by the Province of Cebu and Marty Pimentel and supported by Philippine Sports Commission were the pawn pushers of Dasmarinas, Cavite Mayor Elpidio Barzaga, Jr. Mentored by FIDE Master Roel Abelgas, they brought home four gold medals, two silvers and a bronze.

Abelgas’ wards Jason Danday triumphed in the U18 boys, Daniel Quizon in U14 boys, Kylen Joy Mordido in U16 girls and Jerlyn Mae San Diego in U12 girls. Marie Antoinette San Diego (U20) and Darren de la Cruz (U8) settled for runner-up honors and Justine Diego Mordido finished third in U14.

Cong. Prospero Pichay,Jr., National ChessFederation of the Philippines chairman and president, said, “Mayor Barzaga’s chess development program whose products stood out in the country’s premier age-group competition should serve as a template for LGUs, especially now that the thrust of the PSC is grassroots sports development.

Surigao del Sur’s WFM Allaney Jia Doroy, a national pool member, romped away with the gold medal in U18 girls with Davao City’s Irish Yngayo (U14) and Marikina City’s Antonella Berthe Racasa (U10) posting the largest winning margins, 2 points over the opposition. 

Candon City’s Mecel Angela Gadut (U8) rounded out the top-performing girls.

In the boy’s division, the gold medalists included Christian Mark Daluz of Manila (U16), Michael Concio, Jr. of Los Banos, Calamba (U12), Cedric Kahlel Abris  of Mandaluyong City (U10) and Al-Basher Buto  of Cainta, Rizal (U8).